• ADMATEL Laboratory
  • Packaging Technology
  • Food Processing Technologies
  • Chemicals and Energy
  • Environment / Biotechnology
  • Materials Science
  • National Metrology
  • Testing


Citizen's Charter

Sulong Visayas

ITDI Organization Structure - FPD Home - FAQ - ISO 9000 & 14000 PDF Print E-mail

FAQ - ISO 9000 & 14000

ISO 9000

The ISO 9000 is a series of quality management standards developed by the International Organization for Standards (ISO) in 1987 by the 90 member countries. These standards provide the guidelines and requirements to a quality management system.

The objective of a quality system is to satisfy the customer’s needs, and parallel to that, the user and company needs. In order to have a good quality system infrastructure, a requisite is a well-defined organization structure and well-defined responsibilities and authorities of all personnel within the organization. Adequate resources and planned activities are a must. Since the implementation of the quality system shall be in accordance with planned procedure, the products or services shall consequently meet with agreed quality requirements.

It must be stressed however that the ISO 9000 is not a product standard. A company which has obtained ISO 9000 Certification merely means that it is practicing quality management system in its process in accordance with the requirements of ISO 9000 standards.

The ISO 9000 standards, often used in a generic sense, actually consist of 5 standards.

ISO 9000 describes quality concepts and provides guidelines for the selection and use of the other standards in the series. ISO 9004 examines each of the quality system elements in ISO 9000 standards, helping users understand the entire operation.

ISO 9001, 9002 and 9003 identify three distinct quality system models based on the functions and capabilities of a supplier. ISO 9001 is used when a company is engaged in design/development, production, installation and servicing; ISO 9002 is used when a company is engaged in production and installation; while ISO 9003 is used when a company is engaged in final inspection and test. In other words, a company’s quality system can be certified either ISO 9001, ISO 9002 or ISO 9003 depending on the type of operations/services that they provide.

ISO 14000

The ISO 14000 series of standards was developed to answer the increasing concern for environment preservation and the need for steps that businesses or any organization must take to meet internationally accepted environmental management criteria. It provides guidelines on the elements that an environmental management system should have, as well as supporting technologies (such as environmental auditing), on the pertinent issues like environmental labeling, life cycle analysis, and environmental aspects for product standards.

Advantages of an ISO 14000 certification are reduced pollution, legislative compliance, reduced risks, less waste and better working conditions.


Search Form

ITDI Events

March 2015
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31 1 2 3 4

Login Form

ITDI Syndication

ITDI Feeds rss20.gif

Other Links